CGA Recognizes Safety Award Winners at Annual Meeting

[Chantilly, Virginia, May 7, 2018]–The Compressed Gas Association (CGA) announced the winners of the 2017 safety awards at the Safety Awards Banquet held in conjunction with its Annual Meeting in Wesley Chapel, Florida. CGA is dedicated to the development and promotion of safety standards and safe practices in the industrial and medical gas industry.

"The dedication to safety exhibited by the companies and the individuals we honor each year makes our industry safer for our employees, our distributors, our customers, and the public," said Michael Tiller, CGA President and CEO.

Fleet Safety Excellence Award

Sponsored by Praxair, Inc., the award was created in 1988 to recognize outstanding safety performance among the industry’s bulk and cylinder truck delivery fleets. The award is based on a CGA Member Company’s total Vehicle Accident Frequency Rate. There are four awards presented, two for Bulk Gas Transportation and two for Cylinder Gas Transportation. The winners are:

Bulk Gas Transportation

Cylinder Gas Transportation

Leonard Parker Pool Safety Award

Sponsored by Air Products and Chemicals, Inc., the award was created in 1978 in memory of Leonard Parker Pool, the founder, and former chief executive of Air Products and Chemicals, Inc. The awards are presented annually to participating CGA member companies that have recorded the greatest improvement in safety performance during the previous two years, and is based upon the total recordable case incidence rates as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. There are two divisions of the award. The winners are:

CGA/GAWDA Distributor Safety Award

Sponsored by CGA and the Gases and Welding Distributors Association (GAWDA), the award program was created in 2012. The awards honor the participating GAWDA distributor member companies that have shown the greatest improvement in safety performance. There are two divisions of the award. The winners are:

New Committee Member of the Year Award

Sponsored by Chart Industries, this service award was created in 2014. The award recognizes an individual with less than three years of CGA committee participation for their character, commitment, and contribution to uphold and further the mission of the CGA—to develop and promote safety standards and safe practices for the industrial gas industry. The award was presented to Jack Butler of Butler Gas Products.

Charles H. Glasier Safety Award

Sponsored by American Air Liquide Holdings, Inc., this award was created in 1994 and is given in memory of Charles H. Glasier, a leader in the industry, a strong supporter of safety, and a former CGA chairman (1980) and active participant in CGA for more than 40 years. The award is presented annually to an individual in recognition of their safety leadership in the industrial gas industry. The award was presented to J. Robert Yeoman of B&R Compliance Associates LLC.

Environmental Recognition Award

Sponsored by Linde North America, Inc., and established in 2000, the program identifies and shares good environmental practices as well as promote environmental awareness and improvements within companies and the industry. Awards are presented annually to a CGA member facility, team, or individual who has demonstrated environmental excellence through environmental accomplishments going above and beyond regulatory requirements. Awards were given for the following project:

CGA Canada Morris Gold Award

Sponsored by CGA, and established in 2001, the award is named in honor of Morris A. Gold of Hydro-Flex Canada, an active member of CGA from 1979 to 2001 who championed the importance of CGA’s work both in Canada and in the United States. The award is presented in recognition of outstanding and long-term contributions made by an individual through leadership and participation in CGA Canada and the compressed gas industry. The award was presented to Jacques Senechal of Air Liquide Canada.

H. Emerson Thomas Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by CGA, and established in 1997, the award is presented to an individual involved in CGA activities in recognition of leadership in standards development, safety procedures, and/or regulatory affairs. The award is based solely on the individual's record of achievement on behalf of CGA and the industry; the individual's reputation in the industry and recognition by other authorities; and his/her professional recognition (national, international). Two awards were presented this year. The first award was presented to Michael E. Skrjanc of Praxair Inc., and second award was presented to Michael Tiller, CGA’s outgoing President and CEO.

For information on the CGA Awards Program, please contact Jill Thompson at CGA, 703-788-2700.