News Title Image

Nancy Brochu Receives 2020 Morris Gold Award

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 18, 2020

The Morris Gold Award was presented to Nancy Brochu of Air Liquide Canada Inc., during the CGA Canada Annual Meeting Kick-off held virtually on Tuesday, September 15, 2020. The award was presented in recognition of Nancy’s outstanding and long-term contribution and leadership to the compressed gas industry and CGA Canada.

Since 2004, Nancy has been participating and actively contributing to many CGA Committees including the Canadian Cylinder Specifications Committee (chair 2017-2019); Cylinder Valve Committee; Cylinder Specifications Committee; Canadian Pressure Vessels and Piping Systems Committee; Canadian Health, Safety, and Environment Committee; Canadian Transportation Committee; Canadian Medical, Food, and Beverage Gases and Equipment Committee; and Process Safety Committee.

She is currently a member of 12 work items and has led and been a key member on numerous task forces, including those regarding: Transportation of Dangerous Goods (TDG) Regulations; CSA B339/ B340/ B341/ B342; and assisting in the French translation of CGA publications.

Nancy also contributes to CGA’s participation at the international level in connection with ISO Technical Committee 58 and its Subcommittees for Cylinders, Cylinder Valves, and Operational Requirements. Her participation with ISO Technical Committee 58 impacts safety in the compressed gas industry not only in North America, but worldwide.

In addition, she serves on committees of the Canadian Standards Association (CSA).

Over the years, Nancy has made a positive impact through her participation and involvement on CGA and ISO Committees, in support of the ongoing development and maintenance of safety standards of the worldwide gas industry. Her active participation in these technical arenas has been greatly valued by her fellow members as well as by CGA staff.

The Morris Gold Award is presented periodically to an individual within the compressed gas industry in recognition of their outstanding leadership and participation in CGA Canada. Award criteria include leadership and participation in committee work, contributions to CGA as a spokesperson and supporter within and beyond the individual’s company, longevity of participation in CGA Canada, and recognition by peers.


Founded in 1913, the Compressed Gas Association is dedicated to the development and promotion of safety standards and safe practices in the industrial, medical, and food gases industry. CGA represents more than 130 member companies including manufacturers, distributors, suppliers, and transporters of gases, cryogenic liquids, and related products and services. Through a committee system, CGA develops technical specifications, safety standards, and training and educational materials, and works with government agencies to formulate and promote compliance with responsible regulations and standards. The Association also works with other industrial gas associations around the world to harmonize standards to advance safety in the industrial gas industry.

Photo available on request.

Press contact:
Sarah Saunders
+1 703-788-2724