Shaun LaGrange Receives 2022 Morris Gold Award

September 13, 2022

September 13, 2022, QUEBEC CITY, QUEBEC, CA – The 2022 Morris Gold Award was presented to Shaun LaGrange of Linde Canada, during the 2022 CGA Canada Annual Meeting Banquet on Tuesday, September 13, 2022. The award was presented in recognition of Shaun’s outstanding and long-term contribution to, and leadership on behalf of, the compressed gas industry and CGA Canada.

Since 2012, Shaun has been participating and actively contributing to many CGA Committees including the Canadian Cylinder Specifications Committee (2006 to present); Canadian Medical, Food & Beverage Gases and Equipment Committee (1997 to 2006); Cylinder Specifications Committee (2006 to present); and Cylinder Valve Committee (2006 to present).

He is currently a member of 27 work items and has led and been a key member on numerous task forces, including those regarding:

  • Residual Pressure Valve (RPV) connection standardization;
  • 15-year cylinder requalification petition to Transport Canada (TC) and U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) and others;
  • CGA handbook monographs;
  • Flammable cylinder filling; and
  • French translations of CGA publications.

In addition, Shaun serves on committees of the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) related to cylinder specifications, selection and use. He also actively represents Canada on International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Sub-committees addressing gas cylinders, cylinder design, cylinder fittings, and operational requirements for gas cylinders.

“Shaun’s active role and perseverance in navigating U.S., Canadian, and international regulatory and technical issues over many years is greatly valued by CGA and its members. These words only begin to tell the story of an esteemed colleague who is respected and appreciated by all with whom he interacts,” said Rich Gottwald, CGA President and CEO.

Kim Greenwood, Chair of the Canadian Executive Committee, presented the award to Shaun saying, “Shaun is often the first to raise his hand and volunteer to participate on a work item or serve as Chair. Shaun is an active listener as well as an active participant in committee discussions. His ability to see the many facets of any given discussion and to work towards consensus makes him a valued technical resource. We are privileged to have Shaun LaGrange as a trusted colleague and friend – he is well deserving of receiving this esteemed award.”

The Morris Gold Award is presented periodically to an individual within the compressed gas industry in recognition of their outstanding leadership and participation in CGA Canada. Award criteria include leadership and participation in committee work, contributions to CGA as a spokesperson and supporter within and beyond the individual’s company, longevity of participation in CGA Canada, and recognition by peers.


Founded in 1913, the Compressed Gas Association (CGA) is dedicated to the development and promotion of safety standards and safe practices in the industrial, medical, and food gases industry. CGA represents more than 130 member companies including manufacturers, distributors, suppliers, and transporters of gases, cryogenic liquids, and related products and services. Through a committee system, CGA develops technical specifications, safety standards, and training and educational materials, and works with government agencies to formulate and promote compliance with responsible regulations and standards.

Press Contact:

Paul Pflieger