Ella Sinkovits Receives 2021 Morris Gold Award

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 17, 2021

The 2021 Morris Gold Award was presented to Ella Sinkovits of Messer Canada, during the CGA Canada 2021 Annual Meeting Kick-off held virtually on Tuesday, September 14, 2021. The award was presented in recognition of Ella’s outstanding and long-term contribution to, and leadership on behalf of, the compressed gas industry and CGA Canada.

Since 2012, Ella has been participating and actively contributing to many CGA Committees including the Canadian Cylinder Specifications Committee (Chair 2021-present; 2015-2017); the Cylinder Valve Committee; and the Cylinder Specifications Committee.

She is currently a member of 18 work items and has led and been a key member on numerous task forces, including those:

  • Addressing potential leaks and working toward consistency for global requirements for stamping of SPUN cylinders;
  • Working on clarifying requirements for performing the hammer test in CGA C-6, Standard for Visual Inspection of Steel Compressed Gas Cylinders and CSA B339-14, Cylinders, spheres, and tubes for the transportation of dangerous goods;
  • Evaluating available information on reported failures of type CG-4 and CG-5 pressure relief devices installed on cylinders, to further industry knowledge and practices and update relevant CGA standards;
  • Submitting a successful request for an Equivalency Certificate to Transport Canada that authorizes the requalification of certain cylinders in certain gas services to be requalified every 15 years; and
  • Facilitating French translations of CGA publications.

In addition, Ella serves on committees of CSA Group (formerly known as the Canadian Standards Association); these committees work on relevant issues including revision of critical publications that are incorporated into Canadian Transportation of Dangerous Goods (TDG) regulations:

  • CSA B339-14, Cylinders, spheres, and tubes for the transportation of dangerous goods;
  • CSA B340, Selection and use of cylinders, spheres, tubes, and other containers for the transportation of dangerous goods, Class 2;
  • CSA B341, UN pressure receptacles and multiple-element gas containers for the transport of dangerous goods; and
  • CSA B342, Selection and use of UN pressure receptacles, multiple-element gas containers, and other pressure receptacles for the transport of dangerous goods, Class 2.

Over the years, Ella has made a very positive impact through her participation and involvement on CGA and CSA Committees, in support of the ongoing development and maintenance of safety standards of the worldwide gas industry. Her active participation in these technical arenas has been greatly valued by her fellow Association members as well as by CGA staff.

The Morris Gold Award is presented periodically to an individual within the compressed gas industry in recognition of their outstanding leadership and participation in CGA Canada. Award criteria include leadership and participation in committee work, contributions to CGA as a spokesperson and supporter within and beyond the individual’s company, longevity of participation in CGA Canada, and recognition by peers.

# # #

Founded in 1913, the Compressed Gas Association (CGA) is dedicated to the development and promotion of safety standards and safe practices in the industrial, medical, and food gases industry. CGA represents more than 130 member companies including manufacturers, distributors, suppliers, and transporters of gases, cryogenic liquids, and related products and services. Through a committee system, CGA develops technical specifications, safety standards, and training and educational materials, and works with government agencies to formulate and promote compliance with responsible regulations and standards. The Association also works with other industrial gas associations around the world to harmonize standards to advance safety in the industrial gas industry.

Photo available on request.

Press contact:
Sarah Saunders
+1 703-395-0696